HE’S LOOKING FOR FRUIT

“He who abides in Me, and I in him, bears much fruit; for without Me you can do nothing.” (John 15:5)

 

For many years I have struggled to understand this saying of Jesus. It has put me through many agonizing days of wondering if I had fruit in my life. I didn’t see much fruit in my life according to Galatians 5:22. I did see love, but not much joy or peace and my longsuffering was more like waiting for the person to fall so they wouldn’t be a thorn anymore.   Self-control was out the window and I took great pride in my faithfulness – when I was. I was not a gentle person, so no fruit in that area.   I found myself in a real dilemma!   Then for a period of time in my life I thought winning souls was to be my fruit. It works when your winning souls, but not so much if you’re not.   You start to wonder if you are really connected with the Vine. From this point I found myself in a desperate situation so I began saying yes to every event and ministry that the church had to offer; evangelism, music, discipleship, prison work, drama, artwork, leadership, service, etc., etc., etc.   Oh yah, I’m going to bring forth some fruit now I thought. I found myself exhausted and burnt out. Learning to say no is a very important part of bearing fruit.

 

In the book of Isaiah it is brought out that God is looking for good fruit. “Now let me sing to my Well-beloved a song of my Beloved regarding His vineyard: My Well-beloved has a vineyard on a very fruitful hill . . . He expected it to bring forth good grapes, but it brought forth wild grapes . . . What more could have been done to My vineyard?” (Isaiah 5:1-4) We see in Isaiah the emphasis on the vineyard, but there is also emphasis on the fruit of it. Everything was perfect in the vineyard except for having good grapes.   God is looking for the sweet fruit that it might be enjoyed. He’s not looking to make a profit off of the grapes; He’s looking for sweet fruit.   Jesus makes this point in two parables that are addressed to the religious leaders; both being in Matthew 21:28-41:   There was a man who had two sons and he asked them to work in the vineyard. One said that he wouldn’t, but then did anyway. The other son said that he would, but then went his own way.   After Jesus spoke the parable, He asked the religious leaders which one had done the will of his father? They answered the first son. Jesus’ response is most revealing: “Assuredly, I say to you that tax collectors and harlots enter the kingdom of God before you.” In other words they are willing to work in the vineyard to bring forth the sweet fruit (the kingdom of God). The other parable: A landowner created a vineyard with all the necessary ingredients to bring forth sweet fruit. At vintage time he sent servants to receive the sweet fruit but the (religious) vinedressers beat, stoned, and killed them. Then he sent his son, and they threw him out of the vineyard and killed him. Jesus’ response: “He will destroy those wicked men miserably, and lease his vineyard to other vinedressers who will render to him the (sweet) fruits in their seasons.” Again, God is looking for sweet fruit! He is not looking for our works or what we can do for Him in building His kingdom.   Nor is He looking for perfect character or obedience (although very important). There is a factor that seems to get overlooked many times in our search to bring forth fruit. It’s called relationship! Notice back in John 15:2; Jesus says that every branch that doesn’t bear fruit He takes away or cuts it off. The branches that bear fruit will receive His very personal care by cutting off (pruning back) everything that doesn’t have anything to do with Him baring fruit.   He’s looking for more sweet fruit.   The more He can get, the more blessed He is. The key word in this is “abide.” Abiding is an intimate, relational word. When you abide with someone, you have desire to be constantly with them.   This is brought out in Jesus’ response to His disciples at the last supper. He took the cup giving thanks and gave it to them saying to drink from it, because it was His blood shed for forgiveness of sins. Then He makes this statement: “But I say to you, I will not drink of this fruit of the vine from now on until that day when I drink it new with you in My Father’s kingdom.” (Matthew 26:29) Was Jesus talking about the cup that they had just shared or something else? In seeing God’s desire for a fruitful vineyard in which He has sweet fellowship with those who love Him, we cannot help but see that Jesus is just like His Father. He looks forward to and longs greatly for the intimate fellowship with His disciples. He has already told them that He was going away after His death and resurrection.   But the desire of His heart is to experience forever the sweet fruit of their fellowship. John 15 speaks of abiding and bringing forth this sweet fruit.   John 16 speaks of the Holy Spirit guarding, protecting, comforting, and revealing Jesus to them while He’s gone.   Also, John 17 speaks of His prayer for them while He is gone. He prays in verse 15 for them to be kept from the evil one. Then He reveals His very heart again in verse 24 as He prays, “Father, I desire that they also whom You gave Me may be with Me where I am, that they may behold My glory.” His strong desire is for us to be with Him in sweet fellowship! This vineyard is again described in detail in Revelation 21 and 22; only the description of it is very different.

Leave a comment